2007 Newbury and Caldecott winners announced

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced its annual award winners and runners-up for 2007. The anticipated announcements came on January 22 at the association’s mid-winter conference. Winner of this year’s John Newbery Medal (for outstanding writing in children’s literature) is The Higher Power of Lucky, which was written by Susan Patron and illustrated by Matt Phelan. Newbery Honor Books are Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson; Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm; and Rules by Cynthia Lord. The Randolph Caldecott Winner (for best picture book) this year is Flotsam by David Wiesner. Two other books received Caldecott Honor status: Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet by David McLimans and Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom. Winners of additional awards are listed here, at kidsread.com, along with a brief synopsis of each title, or at the ALA Web site.