Carnegie and Greenaway Award Nominees Announced

The Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) recently announced the short lists of contenders for both its prestigious literary awards: the Carnegie Medal and the Kate Greenaway Medal. The final selections will be announced in a ceremony at the British Library in London on June 21, 2007.

The Carnegie Medal, which is celebrating its seventieth anniversary this year, is awarded to recognize the UK’s best writing for children and young adult readers. While the award provides no cash prize, the Carnegie Award is the most sought-after honor for authors published in the UK. Titles are nominated at large by professional librarians throughout the UK; the finalist is then determined by a panel of librarians from both public and school libraries. This year’s short list consists of six titles:

  • The Road of the Dead by Kevin Brooks
  • A Swift Pure Cry by Siobhan Dowd
  • The Road of Bones by Anne Fine
  • Beast by Ally Kennen
  • Just In Case by Meg Rosoff
  • My Swordhand is Singing by Marcus Sedgwick

The Kate Greenaway Medal is also celebrating a milestone this year: its fiftieth anniversary. The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded for "outstanding illustration in a children’s book." Winners also receive a cash prize presented as the Colin Mears Award. This year’s short list also contains six titles:

  • The Elephantom by Ross Collins
  • Orange Pear Apple Bear by Emily Gravett
  • The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon by Mini Grey
  • Scoop! An Exclusive by Monty Molenski by John Kelly and Cathy Tincknell
  • Augustus and His Smile by Catherine Rayner
  • The Emperor of Absurdia by Chris Riddell

In honor of the two anniversaries this year, two special contests are being held: one to choose the "Carnegie of Carnegies" and another to select the "Greenaway of Greenaways." In each case, ten titles have been chosen from among all previous winners—the so-called best UK books of modern times! The public is encouraged to reread their favorites and vote from those lists by noon on June 14. Results will be announced the next week at the main ceremonies.